Browsing Cities

A blog/photoblog about places I go

That’s why people move to California June 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — katiesmillie @ 2:15 pm
Tags: ,


“That’s why people move to California”

From the time we decided to move from Boston to San Francisco, until 10 months later when we did it, this was our mantra. We repeated it again and again for very inconvenience in the city, every mass-hole driver, every wind chill that whipped below 0F, every bathroom with a light switch outside the door.

Now it’s been over a year since we moved into our 1 BD/ 1 BA apartment in lower pac heights.  As it turns out our sardonic comments were mostly justified.

Here are some of the highlights (mostly all improvements over Boston):

  • There are at least 6 convenient bus lines within 4 blocks to take us nearly anywhere in the city. There is one that goes straight to the beach. They actually come on time too.
  • Our apartment has a year round heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and a gym. And it’s not falling apart from being a million years old. It was built in the 80’s – as in the decade I was born, not the 1880’s.
  • We easily park two cars on the street no hassle, no cost, no snow emergency zones.
  • We haven’t had to turn the heat on once, not even in the winter. Not only is this awesome it also saves money.
  • The sushi is the best I’ve ever had.
  • We can easily get tickets to MLB and NFL games (ok so the SF teams aren’t as good as the Boston teams, but sometimes I just want to be able to go to a game).
  • Snow on-demand. Some of the best skiing in the country is only a 3.5 hour drive away. We went a lot. And then at the end of every weekend we got to go home to SF.
  • Wine country and with it, a bounty of delicious California wines.
  • A year-round farmer’s market two blocks away with live jazz every Saturday and delicious California produce. And I have a year-round garden on my balcony.
  • We can easily walk to hundreds of great restaurants, a dozen different interesting neighborhoods, and at least 4 parks with amazing views.
At our Tahoe Rental (we only deal with snow BY CHOICE now)

At our Tahoe Rental (we only deal with snow BY CHOICE now)

View from Alta Plaza Park (4 blocks away)

View from Alta Plaza Park (4 blocks away)

View from the other side of Alta Plaza Park during the day

View from the other side of Alta Plaza Park during the day

My year round balcony garden

My year round balcony garden

 

2 Responses to “That’s why people move to California”

  1. chico Says:

    for me its a pure no-brainer.I moved to St. Louis when I was 24 for a girl.Now,I ready to go back.

  2. Great blog! As a recent transplant from Boston to California, I agree with you on all of this. I had to laugh about the light switch outside the bathroom door, that describes every apartment I ever had there. Now I go to the beach all the time and have a balcony herb garden too. CA has always been my dream and my passion. Now I find 5 new products every week made right here in California for my digital magazine at fifty13.com.


Leave a Reply

